Connecticut Tax Filing
How to File Your Connecticut Taxes
If you live in Connecticut, you are probably interested in details on how to file your taxes. First, remember that your tax return is due April 15.
Connecticut will tax any income made by its residents, even if it was earned outside the state. Connecticut will also tax any amount that exceeds the amount taxed by the other state.
If you are married in accordance with Connecticut law, you must declare on your tax return that you are married (it does not matter if you file on your own or together with your husband or wife).
Online Tax Software: Compare Them Here
It seems like nobody cares how difficult it was for you to file your taxes and how much money you spent just to get those papers in order. Well, we care. Take a look at your best option for this year: online tax software. It just gets done automatically! Check our guides on the most used applications in the market: e-File.com and Credit Karma.
- Fast Refund
- Ease of Use
- Phone Support
- Local Support
- FREE Audit Support
Connecticut Tax Forms
- Connecticut Form CT-1040X - Amended Connecticut Income Tax Return for Individuals
- Connecticut Tax Booklet - Connecticut Resident Income Tax Return and Instructions
- Connecticut Form CT-1040 EXT - Connecticut Application for Extension of Time to File Income Tax Return for Individuals
- Connecticut Form CT-2210 - Connecticut Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals, Trusts and Estates (Schedules A & B)
- Connecticut Schedule CT-EITC - Connecticut Earned Income Tax Credit
- Connecticut Schedule CT-1040WH - Connecticut Income Tax Withholding Supplemental Schedule
- Connecticut Form CT-EITC SEQ - Connecticut Earned Income Tax Credit Self-Employed Questionnaire
- Connecticut Schedule CT-SI - Connecticut Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Schedule of Income From Connecticut Sources
- Connecticut Form CT-1040 - Connecticut Individual Resident Income Tax Return
- Connecticut Form CT-1040NR/PY - Connecticut Individual Part-Year and Non-resident Income Tax Return
- Connecticut Form CT-1040EXT - Application for Extension of Time to File Connecticut Income Tax Return for Individuals
- Connecticut Form CT-8801 - Connecticut Credit for Prior Year Connecticut Minimum Tax for Individuals, Trusts, and Estates
- Connecticut Form CT-1040AW - Connecticut Part-Year Resident Income Allocation
- Connecticut Form CT-6251 - Connecticut Individuals Alternative Minimum Tax Return
- Connecticut Form CT-1040ES - Connecticut Estimated Income Tax Payment Coupon
- Connecticut Form CT-1041 - Connecticut Trusts and Estate Income Tax Return
Determine Your Residency Status
The amount of your taxes depends on your residency status, so check below to see which category you fall in.
You Are a Resident of Connecticut
When are you considered a resident of Connecticut? In the following cases: if you had your permanent domicile in Connecticut for the whole tax year, or if you stayed in Connecticut for at least 183 days. Residents need to file a tax return if they made estimated tax payments, had income withheld, exceed the allowed income limit or had a federal tax liability.
The allowed gross income limits are: $12,625 (single), $24,000 (married, filing jointly), $12,000 (married, filing separately), and $19,000 (head of houseold).
How exactly is gross income calculated? It is all the income the resident filed on the federal return, plus any other income filed on Form CT-1040, Schedule1.
If you are a resident of Connecticut, you have to use Form CT-1040 to file your return (you can download the 2019 Form CT-1040 Connecticut Resident Income Tax instructions above).
You Are a Part-Year Connecticut Resident
If you had your permanent home in Connecticut only part of the year (in other words, if you moved in or outside of Colorado during the tax year), you are considered a part-year resident.
Connecticut will tax any income you earned while being a resident, no matter where you earned it (inside or outside of Connecticut). Also, the state will tax you even while being a nonresident, for any income earned inside Connecticut.
Use Form CT-1040AW to calculate your taxable income amount. In order to file a part-year resident use Form CT-1040NR/PY. You can find out the amount of your taxable income by using the income calculated on Form CT-1040AW.
In case you and your spouse do not have the same residency status and you already filed together on your federal return, you have to use Form CT-1040NR/PY in order to file separately for Connecticut. In this case, calculate on your taxable income Form CT-1040AW referring only to your part of the household income. Keep in mind that if you are a part-year resident, you do not meet the requirements for getting property tax credits.
If you have to pay more than $1,000 beyond the taxes originally withheld, you have to use Form CT-1040ES.
You Are a Connecticut Resident Who Works in a Different State
As a resident, any income you make will be taxed by Connecticut, even if it was earned in a different state. Since the state where you earn your income might also tax you, you have to think about avoiding dual taxation. To ask for a tax credit from Connecticut, you have to file Form CT-1040 and include a copy of the return that you already filed with the other state.
If the taxes paid to the other state is $1000 or more below the Connecticut tax, then you will have to pay taxes in Connecticut. You can file these using Form CT-1040ES; keep in mind that they are due on four different dates: April 15, June 15, September 15 and January 15. Find out further details in the Form CT-1040 instructions as well as in Form CT-1040ES.
If you are a Connecticut resident, you have to use Form CT-1040 to file your return (you can download the 2019 Form CT-1040 Connecticut Resident Income Tax instructions above).
You are a nonresident who worked or sold property in Connecticut
When are you a nonresident in Connecticut? In one of the following cases: if your domicile was not at all in Connecticut during the tax year, or if you lived in this state for not more than 183 days, or in the case that you had a domicile in Connecticut, but lived there for no more than 30 days.
When do you need to file a nonresident return with Connecticut? In these cases: if you are a Connecticut nonresident and income tax was held from your earnings, made estimations on tax payments, surpassed the allowed income from sources in Connecticut, or had to pay a federal alternative minimum tax.
The allowed gross income limit is $24,000 if the resident is married and applies together with the wife or husband, $12,000 if the resident is married but applies separately, $13,000 if the resident is single, $19,000 if the resident is head of house.
What makes for taxable income in Connecticut? Among the sources of income are wages from services delivered inside the state, accumulated sick payment, vacation payment, unemployment revenues, property sale or rental, as well as money from S corporation or partnership in Connecticut
If you have to file a nonresident tax return, use Form CT-1040NR/PY (you can download the 2019 CT-1040NR/PY Connecticut Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return instructions above).
In case you and your spouse have different residency status, and you already filed together for the federal return, you have to use Form CT-1040NR/PY in order to file separately for Connecticut only. In this case, calculate your taxable income referring only to your part of the common income.
If you have to pay more than $1,000 besides the taxes originally held, you have to use Form CT-1040ES.
For other details on how to file your nonresident return with Connecticut, and more information on types of taxable income, you can download the 2019 Form CT-1040 Connecticut Resident Income Tax instructions above.